Drum lessons in Fort Wayne, Indiana

10639706_10202901094865244_5747636842083689901_n_1Todd Harrold is accepting students (beginner and advanced) looking to take drum lessons in Fort Wayne, IN. Todd has 36 years playing experience and has recorded 8 albums under his own name.

Todd has studied with Mike Clark (Herbie Hancock, Albert King, Freddie King, Woody Shaw) Zoro (Lenny Kravitz), Paul Wertico (Pat Metheny, Larry Coryell, Kurt Elling), Peter Erskine (Steely Dan, Weather Report), New Orleans Legend Stanton Moore (Galactic), Jeff Sipe (Trey Anastasio, Phil Lesh, Aquarium Rescue Unit), Jack Mouse (Stan Kenton, Maynard Ferguson), Carl Allen (Freddie Hubbard, Jackie Mclean, Julliard School of Music), and David Derge (David Benoit), among others.

Topics stressed in lessons:

  1. Hand and Foot Control
  2. Rudiments
  3. Rock-solid Time and Feel
  4. Coordination
  5. Learning as many playing styles as possible (Rock, Soul, Jazz, Latin, Reggae, etc.)
  6. Reading and Interpreting music (Dynamics, Context, etc.)
  7. History of Music Styles, Artists, and Drummers
  8. Playing songs & getting and maintaining work as a musician.

Material/methods/books:

  1. Stick Control by George Lawrence Stone (hand exercises, interpretations for drum kit)
  2. Syncopation by Ted Reed (drum kit interpretations and variations in the fashion of Boston teacher Alan Dawson and the Berklee College of Music)
  3. The Art of Bop Drumming by John Riley (Swing playing)
  4. The Drummer's Complete Vocabulary as taught by Alan Dawson
    by John Ramsay
  5. Patterns by Gary Chaffee (drum set coordination and interpretation)
  6. Groove Alchemy by Stanton Moore (Funk, Soul, Rock and New Orleans Second-Line rhythms)
  7. The Language of Drumming by Benny Greb (hand, foot, drum kit and reading coordination and vocabulary *a big favorite*)
  8. The Break Beat Bible by Mike Adamo (Funk and Hip-hop patterns and transcriptions)
  9. Bass Drum Control by Colin Bailey
  10. Advanced Funk Studies by Rick Latham
  11. The Master Drummer by John Riley (Swing and Latin playing)
  12. Percussive Arts Society 40 Essential Rudiments....among many others.
THE STUDENT DOES NOT NEED TO PURCHASE THESE BOOKS, these are just examples of books that will be worked out of directly or interpreted for lessons.

Todd schedules drum lessons in Fort Wayne seven days a week and his rates are currently $20 for half an hour and $30 for an hour.

Contact Todd at toddharrold3@gmail.com or 260-478-5611 for more details or to get started!

Video Lessons

Drum Lesson #1

Drum Lesson #2

HI HAT BARKS
(Bernard Purdie/James Gadson)

MAX ROACH/JOHN BONHAM
"TRIP-O-LET-AND" DRUM LICK LESSON

DRUM SET SHUFFLE GROOVES
(FROM ODIE PAYNE TO JABO STARKS TOBUTCH AND JAIMOE TO JEFF PORCARO)

 The King Kong Beat
(Garibaldi/Clark/Idris Muhammad/Gadd)

September 2017 October 2017 November 2017 December 2017

Fri Sep 15 2017
8:30p 
nick's martini and wine bar
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Sep 16 2017
8:00p 
saint therese fall festival
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sun Sep 17 2017
4:00p 
whispering meadows neighbo...
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Thu Sep 21 2017
6:00p 
fort wayne urban league
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Fri Sep 22 2017
10:00p 
O'sullivan's Italian Pub
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Sep 23 2017
10:00p 
Downtown Eatery & Spirits
Warsaw, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Sep 29 2017
9:00p 
Club Soda
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Sep 30 2017
7:00p 
mad anthony's lake city tap house
warsaw, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Fri Oct 6 2017
8:00p 
The Coterie
Kokomo, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Oct 7 2017
8:00p 
duesy's sports bar and grille
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+

Fri Oct 13 2017
10:00p 
O'sullivan's Italian Pub
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+


Sat Oct 14 2017
11:00a 
Headwaters Park
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Sat Oct 14 2017
8:00p 
american legion post 148
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Oct 21 2017
10:00p 
Union 50
Indianapolis, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Oct 27 2017
9:00p 
Club Soda
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+

Sat Oct 28 2017
7:00p 
Mad Anthony Brewing Company
Auburn, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Fri Nov 3 2017
9:00p 
Club Soda
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Nov 4 2017
8:00p 
Mad Anthony Brewing Company
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Sat Nov 11 2017
10:00p 
Downtown Eatery & Spirits
Warsaw, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Nov 17 2017
9:00p 
Rack and Helens Bar & Grill
New Haven, IN Age Limit: 21+

Sat Nov 18 2017
8:00p 
american legion post 148
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Wed Nov 22 2017
7:00p 
mad anthony's lake city tap house
warsaw, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Fri Nov 24 2017
10:00p 
O'sullivan's Italian Pub
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Nov 25 2017
8:00p 
duesy's sports bar and grille
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Dec 1 2017
9:00p 
Club Soda
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Dec 8 2017
8:30p 
nick's martini and wine bar
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Dec 9 2017
8:00p 
american legion post 148
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Dec 15 2017
10:00p 
Union 50
Indianapolis, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Dec 16 2017
9:00p 
Club Soda
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Fri Dec 22 2017
9:00p 
DEER PARK PUB
fort wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+

Sat Dec 23 2017
7:00p 
mad anthony's lake city tap...
warsaw, IN Age Limit: All Ages 

Fri Dec 29 2017
10:00p 
O'sullivan's Italian Pub
Fort Wayne, IN Age Limit: 21+ 

Sat Dec 30 2017
7:00p 
Mad Anthony Brewing Company
Auburn, IN Age Limit: All Ages

"I Can See Clearly Now" (Cover)

"Love and Happiness" (Al Green Cover)

"I don't need no Doctor"

"One Way Out"

"Lights"

"Beast of Burden"

"Miss Riverside"

"Yellow Moon"

"Love Is Alove"

"More Than You'll Ever Know"

"Use Me"

 

Drum Lesson #1

Drum Lesson #2

HI HAT BARKS
(Bernard Purdie/James Gadson)

MAX ROACH/JOHN BONHAM
"TRIP-O-LET-AND" DRUM LICK LESSON

DRUM SET SHUFFLE GROOVES
(FROM ODIE PAYNE TO JABO STARKS TOBUTCH AND JAIMOE TO JEFF PORCARO)

 The King Kong Beat
(Garibaldi/Clark/Idris Muhammad/Gadd)